top of page

Wed, Apr 10


Smithsonian American Art Museum

2024 Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation

The 13th Annual COMTO Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation (CWWMN) Awards Breakfast will take place on Wednesday, April 10, at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery.

Registration is closed
See other events
2024 Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation
2024 Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation

Time & Location

Apr 10, 2024, 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

Smithsonian American Art Museum, G Street Northwest &, 8th St NW, Washington, DC 20004, USA

About the Event

The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) has announced the 10 women who will be honored this year for their outstanding leadership and exemplary dedication to the transportation industry. This highly anticipated event uplifts women across modes and sectors who have positively contributed to the transportation industry. Attended by a sold-out audience of National leaders since its inception, the CWWMN Awards breakfast has become an annual highlight for the transportation industry. Tickets and sponsorship opportunities can be purchased at

In observance of Women's History Month, to date, COMTO has inducted 142 women into its Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation signature class of leaders in the transportation industry. The honorees encompass a diverse spectrum of multi-modal transportation, spanning both the public and private sectors. These women embody excellence – despite their various areas of influence and affiliations, the significance of their contributions to advance and fortify our nation's infrastructure is unparalleled.

2024 COMTO Women Who Move the Nation Honoree

  • Monica Backmon, CEO, Northern Virginia Transportation Authority
  • Donna Berry, Deputy Director of Project Delivery and Chief Engineer, California Department of Transportation
  • Veronica Davis, Director, Transportation and Drainage Operations, City of Houston Public Works
  • Dr. Shelley Francis, Co-Founder, Managing Partner, EVNoire
  • Gloria Frank, Chief of Police, Port Authority New York, New Jersey
  • Carmencita Mitchell, Chair, Palm Tran Service Board, Palm Tran Service Board and Palm Beach State College
  • Rear Admiral, Ann C. Phillips, Administrator, U.S. Maritime Administration
  • Yovannie Rodriguez, Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer, Greater Orlando Aviation Authority
  • Charlotte Shaw, Executive Director/CEO, MAX Transit, Birmingham Jefferson County Transit Authority
  • Janice R. Thomas, Deputy Executive Director, External Affairs, METRA

Share This Event

bottom of page